
1 
 

 

 
COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA 

 
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 

P.O. BOX 2120 
RICHMOND, VA 23218-2120

 
 

Office of Child Care Health and Safety 
Frequently Asked Questions-Exemptions from Licensure  

Updated on July 25, 2023 
 
All exemptions from licensure for child day programs are described in the Code of Virginia, § 22.1-
289.030. Section 22.1-289.030 A lists programs that are not child day programs and are not required to be 
licensed. Section 22.1-289.030 B lists programs that are identified as child day programs that are not 
required to be licensed if all the requirements set forth in the exemption are met. Please review § 22.1-
289.030 of the Code to determine if an exemption applies since some requirements only apply to certain 
programs. 
 
General Questions 
 
Question: Where can I find out more about exemptions from licensure?  
 
Response: The Code of Virginia defines a “child day program” as “a regularly operating service 
arrangement for children where, during the absence of a parent or guardian, a person or organization 
has agreed to assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of a child under the 
age of 13 for less than a 24-hour period.” Child day programs are required to be licensed or to meet (and 
if applicable, to file for) an exemption from licensure. The laws regarding exemptions can be found at § 
22.1-289.030. The VDOE Childcare VA website has an Exempt Filing page with additional information 
about the process for filing for an exemption from licensure.   
 
Question: How do I know if I qualify for an exemption?   
 
Response: In Virginia, child day programs are defined as a regularly operating service arrangement for 
children where, during the absence of a parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to 
assume responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of a child under the age of 13 years 
for less than a 24-hour period. Child day programs are required to be licensed or meet an exemption in § 
22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia. Please review the information in the Code to determine if your 
program(s) may meet an exemption. To see if your program is exempt from licensure, review the 
Exemptions Tips Table on the Exempt Filing page to determine if your program is exempt from licensure.  
 
If you believe the program meets an exemption, please file a Statement of Exemption here. If the program 
does not meet an exemption, the program may be required to be licensed. More information on licensure 
may be found at ChildCareVA.com.  
  
If after review of the information on exemptions you have questions, email any questions to 
cclexemptions@doe.virginia.gov. If you have questions about the licensure process, please reach out to 
your regional Office of Child Care Health and Safety. 
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Question: What is the process to file for an exemption with the Superintendent? 
 
Response: A Statement of Exemption must be submitted to the Department prior to beginning operation 
and annually thereafter. The Statement of Exemption can be found on the Department’s website at 
https://www.childcare.virginia.gov/providers/program-types/exempt-filing.  
 
The Statement of Exemption requests the following information: 
• Identifying information such as the program’s name, physical address, mailing address, phone number, 
email address, the name of the sponsoring organization, and a designated contact person; 
• Program information such as the capacity, age range of children served, and hours of operation; 
• Which exemption the program meets; and 
• Acknowledgements and certifications that the program meets the requirements of the Code of Virginia. 
 
If assistance is needed to determine if your program meets an exemption, please send the details of your 
program to cclexemtpions@doe.virginia.gov and specify the exemption that you think your program 
meets. 
 
Question: Who do I contact if I have questions regarding exemptions?   
 
Response: If you have questions regarding exemptions, please contact the VDOE team at 
cclexemptions@doe.virginia.gov.   
      
Question: What happens after I file an exemption?   
 
Response: After an exemption is filed, the information is reviewed by VDOE to ensure that the 
information provided meets the requirements in § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia and the 
requirements of the selected exemption. VDOE staff will reach out if additional information is needed. 
After the filing is processed, a confirmation email will be sent to the identified contact person for the 
program. The email will include a filing number and instructions for annual filing.  
      
Question: Does VDOE approve exemptions?   
 
Response: VDOE does not approve exemptions. VDOE reviews information provided by programs 
claiming an exemption to ensure that filing information meets the requirements of the selected exemption. 
VDOE inspects exempt programs if there is a complaint and reviews all Code requirements for the 
exemption as part of the inspection.    
 
Question: I want to start a summer camp. Am I required to be licensed or can my program be 
exempt?  
 
Response: Child day programs are defined as a regularly operating service arrangement for children 
where, during the absence of a parent or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to assume 
responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of a child under the age of 13 years for less 
than a 24-hour period. A summer camp would be subject to licensure if the program is considered a child 
day program. If the summer camp is subject to licensure, the program must become licensed, operate as a 
program described in subsection A of § 22.1-289.030, or meet an exemption in subsection B of § 22.1-
289.030 of the Code of Virginia. If you believe the program meets an exemption, please file a Statement of 
Exemption here. More information on licensure may be found at ChildCareVA.com.  
  
If after review of the information on exemptions you have questions, please email 
cclexemptions@doe.virginia.gov. If you have questions about the licensure process, please reach out to 
your regional Office of Child Care Health and Safety.  
 
Question: What does it mean to be subject to licensure? 
 
Response: Any program that meets the definition of a child day program and does not meet an exemption  
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found in § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia, is required to be licensed and must obtain the 
appropriate license from the Superintendent prior to beginning operation. 
 
Question: What does it mean to be exempt from licensure? 
 
Response: The Code of Virginia allows certain child day programs to be exempt from licensure, meaning 
that they can legally operate without a license. However, certain exempt programs must file an exemption 
with the Superintendent before beginning operation and annually thereafter. 
 
Question: Does the funding source for my program determine whether the program is exempt or 
required to be licensed? 
 
Response: No. If the program meets the definition of a child day program and does not meet an exemption 
found in § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia, the program is subject to licensure and must obtain the 
appropriate license from the Superintendent prior to beginning operation. 
 
Question: Is there a limit on the number of children that a child day program, exempt from 
licensure can have in care at one time? 
 
Response: It depends on the exemption that the child day program meets. For example, the approved 
capacity for child day programs exempt under §§ 22.1-289.030 B1 and B5 is based on the requested 
capacity and the occupancy load permitted by the building official. Child day programs exempt under § 
22.1-289.030 B8 are limited to no more than four children at any given time. VDOE does not limit the 
capacity for exempt programs falling under §§ 22.1-289.030 B2, B3, B4, B6, B7 or B9, but programs are 
responsible for adhering to any capacity restrictions put in place by local ordinances or the building 
official. 
 
Question: How were existing exemptions from licensure established? 
 
Response: All exemptions listed in § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia have resulted through 
legislation passed through General Assembly. 
 
Question: Can I apply for licensure even if I meet an exemption? 
 
Response: Yes. Any child day program can apply for licensure; however, as an applicant for licensure, 
your program will be required to comply with the Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers. For 
example, a child day program that previously allowed school age children to freely come and go from the 
program will no longer be permitted to allow this practice once licensed because licensing standards do 
not allow a child to leave the center unsupervised. 
 
Question: If I operate an exempt program, can I operate another exempt program at the same 
location? 
 
Response: Yes, if the programs are separate and distinct programs with dedicated personnel and space 
for each program at the same location, you may operate more than one exempt program. A separate 
Statement of Exemption must be filed for each program prior to beginning operation and annually 
thereafter. 
 
Question: May a child day program, exempt from licensure receive child care subsidy funding? 
 
Response: Only certain child day programs exempt from licensure are eligible to apply to become 
approved subsidy vendors. Child day programs exempt from licensure interested in participating in the 
Virginia Child Care Subsidy Program must review the steps to apply as a vendor at the Child Care VA 
website. 
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Question: Will anyone from the Office of Child Care Health and Safety with VDOE visit my 
program? 
 
Response: Upon receipt of a complaint, Office of Child Care Health and Safety (OCCHS) staff will 
inspect your facility to determine compliance with § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia. 
 
Question: Our agency operates child day programs at multiple locations; are we required to file for 
exemption for each location? 
 
Response: Exemptions are site specific; therefore, if your agency operates at multiple locations and meets 
an exemption found in § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia, your agency will need to submit a 
Statement of Exemption for each location. 
 
Question: My agency applied for and was awarded a 21st Century Grant, but my agency does not 
provide the actual care to children. Is my agency responsible for meeting and filing for an 
exemption found in § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia or applying for licensure as a child day 
program? 
 
Response: No. Not all 21st Century Grant recipients operate child day programs. We are aware that 
many 21st Century Grant recipients have partnered with other organizations to provide services. The 
agency or organization offering the program that is responsible for the supervision, protection and well-
being of a child under the age of 13 during the absence of a parent or guardian is responsible for meeting 
and filing an exemption found in § 22.1-289.030 of the Code of Virginia or applying for licensure. 
 
Question: My program was a previously licensed program that now operates under an exemption 
rather than as a licensed center. Why do I no longer have a Fieldprint ID with the Virginia 
Department of Social Services Office of Background Investigations? 
 
Response: Fieldprint codes are only assigned to programs that are required to obtain fingerprints under 
Virginia law. Because your organization chose to surrender your license and operate as a child day 
program exempt from licensure under § 22.1-289.030 B, your agency no longer has a Fieldprint code.  
Child day programs exempt from licensure under § 22.1-289.030 B (excluding religiously exempt child 
day centers and certified preschools) are not required to obtain background checks pursuant to § 22.1-
289.035 of the Code of Virginia. If you wish to complete fingerprint national background checks for your 
employees, or if you are required to obtain such clearances for accreditation purposes, you will need to 
obtain fingerprints directly through the Virginia State Police using form SP-325 or by establishing an 
account directly with Fieldprint.  
 
Question: Who can I contact if I have additional questions related to exempt programs? 
 
Response: Please email cclexemptions@doe.virginia.gov.  
 
Who can I contact if I have questions related to applying for licensure? 
 
Response: If you are interested in obtaining licensure, please contact your regional Office of Child Care 
Health and Safety. 
 
§ 22.1-289.030 A 
 
Question: I operate a program described in § 22.1-289.030 A of the Code. Do I need to file an 
exemption with VDOE?   
 
Response: The Code of Virginia, § 22.1-289.030 A identifies programs that are not considered child day 
programs based on the specifics of the program. Programs that do not meet the definition of a child day 
program are not subject to licensure or required to file an exemption. 
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Question: Our agency operates exempt from licensure under Virginia Code 22.1-289.030 A 2. We 
were invited to apply for the Child Care Provider Grant Program and need a Child Care license-
exempt letter. Can you guide us on obtaining a license-exemption based on this code? 
 
Response: Programs that operate under subsection A of § 22.1-289.30 are not considered child day 
programs. The Department does not have oversight of or issue letters to programs operating under 
subsection A.   
 
§ 22.1-289.030 B2 
 
Question: I want to file an exemption under § 22.1-289.030 B2, but parents must provide a list of 
authorized individuals allowed to pick up their child. Does this meet the requirements of the 
exemption? 
 
Response: No. Subsection B2 of 22.1-289.030 of the Code requires that children must be free to enter and 
leave the premises without permission. This includes not requiring authorization for the child to leave 
with certain individuals. 
§ 22.1-289.030 B3 
 
Question: I operate a licensed child day center and would like to add an exempt program for an age 
group not covered by my license that only operates during spring and winter break. Is this 
prohibited?  
 
Response: No. A licensed program may also operate an exempt program. However, the provider is 
encouraged to discuss modifying the current license with their assigned licensing inspector.  
 
§ 22.1-289.030 B4 
 
Question: I operate a small fitness gym and provide onsite care for children of participants. Do I 
need to file an exemption if the parents are in a room across from where the children are located 
and can see into the room?  
 
Response: Yes. If another individual, other than the parent will be responsible for the supervision of the 
child for any duration, an exemption is required. Programs offering a child minding service for parents 
who are on-site participating in or offering services at the establishment and can resume responsibility for 
their child within 30 minutes may file under the exemption in § 22.1-289.030 B4.  
 
§ 22.1-289.030 B6 
 
Question: If a Parks and Recreation entity operates several summer programs with varying 
themes, can one exemption be filed for all the programs?  
 
Response: The Code of Virginia requires an exemption to be filed for each program that operates 
separately and distinctly. For example, if the entity offers several camps which requires separate sign-up 
or registration, the programs are considered separate and distinct. However, if one group of children 
move throughout the program to different themed camps and only one sign-up or registration is required, 
this is considered one program and only one exemption filing is required.  
 
§ 22.1-289.030 B7 
 
Question: We are a nonprofit offering the program within a public school building and the school 
division is our co-applicant for the 21st Century Grant. Can we file for the school division 
exemption found in § 22.1-289.030 B7 of the Code of Virginia? 
 
Response: No. The exemption must be filed by the local school division or a representative of the local  
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school division. In order to meet the exemption under § 22.1-289.030 B7, the child day program must be 
offered by a local school division, operated for no more than four hours per day on full instructional days 
or for more than four hours per day on shortened instructional days or noninstructional days, staffed by 
local school division employees, attended by children who are at least three years of age and are enrolled 
in public school or a preschool program within such school division and subject to safety and supervisory 
standards established by the local school division offering the program. 
 
Question: Our program is offered by the local school division but is not located within a public 
school building; do we still meet the exemption for local school divisions under § 22.1-289.030 B7 of 
the Code of Virginia? 
 
Response: Yes. There is nothing prohibiting a local school division from offering such programming at a 
location outside of a public school building. The school division must file an exemption under § 22.1-
289.030 B7 if all requirements are met. A private entity or organization offering an offsite program may 
not file for exemption under § 22.1-289.030 B7. 
 
Question: If a program is operating under the school division exemption found in § 22.1-289.030 B7 
of the Code of Virginia, can vendors and outside staff work in the program or does that make the 
program no longer exempt? 
 
Response: There is nothing prohibiting a local school division from partnering with outside entities to 
provide enrichment/supplemental support, but the program must also be staffed by local school division 
employees that are responsible for the supervision, protection, and well-being of children in care during 
the operating hours of the program. 
 
Question: My organization and the school are co-applicants for the 21st Century grant. Who is 
responsible for filing the exemption? 
 
Response: Requirements for programs exempt from licensing and the requirement to file with the 
Superintendent are not dependent on the applicant or grantee status of the 21st Century grant. The 
exemption applies to the entity identified in the exemption and this entity is responsible for ensuring that 
the requirements of the Code are met. For example, the exemption in § 22.1-289.030 B7 applies to the 
local school division and the local school division, or a representative of the local school division must 
file the exemption, even if the local school division has partnered with another agency to operate the 
program and carry out the requirements of the grant. Pursuant to § 22.1-289.030 B7, the program is still 
required to be staffed by local school division employees.  
 
Question: The local school division operates an academic program for students in the morning and 
an after school program is offered during the afternoon under the 21st Century grant funds. Can 
the school file for an exemption for each program offered under § 22.1-289.030 B7 if the programs 
are separate and distinct? 
 
Response: Yes. If a local school division offers two programs that operate separately, each has its own 
service arrangement for children in care, and the two distinct programs meet the requirements of the 
exemption § 22.1-289.030 B7, the school division may file the exemption for both programs. 
 
Question: My program wants to apply for the exemption in § 22.1-289.030 B7 but we take field 
trips that extend beyond the four hours per day of operation allowed by the Code. Is this 
permitted? 
 
Response: Programs that file an exemption under § 22.1-289.030 B7 must meet all the requirements 
during operation. In order to meet the exemption under § 22.1-289.030 B7, the child day program must 
be offered by a local school division, operated for no more than four hours per day on full instructional 
days or for more than four hours per day on shortened instructional days or noninstructional days, 
staffed by local school division employees, attended by children who are at least three years of age and 
are enrolled in public school or a preschool program within such school division and subject to safety  
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and supervisory standards established by the local school division offering the program. Therefore, the 
program hours, which would include field trips, are limited to a maximum of four hours per day on full 
instructional days and are not limited on shortened instructional days or noninstructional days.  
 
§ 22.1-289.030 B8 
 
Question: My business provides child care service to employees for eight to nine hours per day. I 
have 15 employees that work carrying shifts. Can I enroll all the children if no more than 4 attend 
at one time?  
 
Response: Yes. There is no maximum enrollment requirement. The maximum capacity at any given time 
may not exceed four.  
 
Question: Are employees required to remove their child from care on their breaks if they remain 
on the premises?  
 
Response: No. Children of employees may remain in care if the parent is on the premises and can resume 
responsibility for the child’s supervision within 30 minutes.  
 
§ 22.1-289.030 B9 
 
Question: We are a private school. It is unclear to me whether “school-age” includes our Junior 
Kindergarten students.  
 
Response: The Code of Virginia defines “school-age” as “children eligible to attend public school, age 
five or older by September 30 of that same year.” For questions specific to your program, please email 
cclexemptions@doe.virginia.gov.  
 
Question: Our private school enrolls children ages four to five in our school-age private 
kindergarten program. We would like to provide license exempt care for before and after school to 
these children. Is this allowed?  
 
Response: No. All children attending the exempt program under § 22.1-289.030 B9, must be of 
compulsory school age which is defined in the Code of Virginia as five by September 30th of the attending 
year.  
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